ISO 9000

ISO 9000 family is a series of standards, developed and published by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), that define, establish, and maintain an effective quality assurance system for manufacturing and service industries. The ISO 9000 family of quality management standards is designed to help organizations ensure that they meet the needs of customers and other stakeholders while meeting statutory and regulatory requirements related to a product. The 9000 family deal with the fundamentals of quality management systems, including the eight management principles upon which the family of standards is based. Italy has the second place in graduatory like stock number of certificates.

Top 10 countries for ISO 9001 certificates (2010)
Rank Country No. of certificates
1 China 297,037
2 Italy 138,892
3 Russian Federation 62,265
4 Spain 59,854
5 Japan 59,287
6 Germany 50,583
7 United Kingdom 44,849
8 India 33,250
9 United States 25,101
10 Korea, Republic of 24,778



International Organization for Standardization
The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is an international standard setting body composed of representatives from various national standard organitation. Founded on 23 February 1947, the organization promotes worldwide proprietary, industrial and commercial standard. It is headquartered in Geneva Switzerland and as of 2013 works in 164 countries.


Post Your Thoughts